What is Six Sigma? Everything you need to know

Learning Six Sigma approaches for your professional life can positively impact your future employment prospects. 

The opportunity to include Six Sigma Certification on your CV demonstrates your dedication to developing your business acumen and analytical skills and the company where you work. It gives you the ability to solve complicated challenges in various industries. 

Learning about Lean Six Sigma, specifically DMAIC, equips you to play three roles: detective, doctor, and mechanic. You can explore, diagnose, and resolve issues. Employees with these talents can start and finish projects that increase quality and efficiency while impacting the bottom line.

Six Sigma

Six Sigma is a management and business organization strategy or methodology used for any company. It is intended to boost its profitability by focusing on a single goal: to reduce product failures or faults to almost zero. 

Six Sigma is a data-driven management approach to improving and optimizing business processes. The basic framework is built around a strong customer focus and good data and analytics. Six Sigma course cost varies depending on the certification organization, whether you take training or complete a project before taking the exam, and the belt level. 

Six Sigma Methodology

Six Sigma is a quality management approach commonly known as DMAIC, which stands for define, measure, analyze, improve, and control. The five phases that you must follow in each process are as follows.


The process or procedures are defined, and its management will review them. The project’s work team is also established. Finally, the improvement goals are established.


It’s critical to comprehend the current status of the problem or flaw that the enhanced process is experiencing. Each step of the process is classed and evaluated, with variables identified and measured.


The measurement findings are analyzed and evaluated, with the current state compared to the process’s history. This part is where you can figure out what’s causing the issue.


Measures needed to improve the process are taken.


The appropriate measures are taken to ensure the process’ efficiency and continuity, which you can adjust to meet the new goals.

What are the Six Sigma belts?

Six sigma levels or certifications are named after martial arts belt colors. To earn a six sigma certification at any level, you must first complete a course that prepares you for the criteria and then pass a test to receive the certificate.

The 6 Sigma Online courses are self-contained and textbook-based. In general, you study the required portions and are assessed on your knowledge. 

There are no prerequisites except for the master’s black belt, so you can begin at whatever level feels most appropriate for your background.

White Belt

Work on local concerns for project teams. It is suggested that they have some training in six Sigma as it can be a first step toward becoming a yellow belt, but certification is not strictly required for the individual who holds this position. 

It is sufficient to understand the technique.

Yellow Belt

These are project teams that do not have direct decision-making authority. They are primarily in charge of gathering statistical information for the green and black belts. 

Their training is minimal; they only need to understand the project’s approach, structure, and development process.

Green Belt

Together with the black belt, professionals are responsible for implementing and managing initiatives. Both are in contact with a person in top management named Champion, who, like the rest of the managers, has a higher level of training in the approach and acts as an intermediary. 

The Green Belt certificate is the most in-demand professional.

Black Belt

They have more thorough and advanced statistical training than the green belt, so the projects they work on are more difficult and require a bigger commitment. 

Whether or not the black and green belts comply with these projects frequently comes with a financial incentive.

Master Black Belt

Someone is generally external at the start of the implantation dedicated to constructing the yellow, green, and black belts. 

When black belts have gained substantial experience and completed multiple projects, they can advance to master black belt status and oversee the training of different belts, with this figure being a business employee rather than an outside expert.


Having a Six Sigma certification is becoming a requirement in today’s business world. Rather than the difficulties of on-site providers, Six Sigma Course training satisfies the expectations of professionals with a self-paced approach. 

Six Sigma teaches people to pause what they’re doing, assess how well they’ve done it, and then make adjustments to eliminate faults.

Regardless of your field, having problem-solving skills that apply to areas such as quality improvement may be valuable. You can use data to articulate why a solution is needed and speak in cost-benefit terms. 

Experts say that some fields now expect their existing or potential employees to have this certification. You can upgrade yourself in KNOWLATHON with Sigma certification courses.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s